Kalkan Turkey Forum - EnjoyKalkan.com would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy notice.
To accept the cookie click here, or please login or register.

Author Topic: Garden plants-advice please  (Read 3461 times)

Offline reginald

• EnjoyKalkan Member
  • My Thankyou Count: 0
    • Share Post
Garden plants-advice please
« on: February 24, 2008, 12:07:24 PM »
I need some advice please.
I have a very large of vine going up 3 floors on my villa. It causes all sorts of problems with grapes dropping etc and I need to remove it.
Could anyone suggest what can go in its place to take away the starkness of bare concrete.?
Ideally something with flowers and which will grow fast and high.
The obvious is bouganvillea I think, but I am not an expert to say the least.
If bouganvillea, I wonder what species and where to get it from.?
I am coming to Kalkan this week and I guess this is the time to put in a plant? Probably one which is aready largish.
Help please - many thanks in advance !!

Linkback: https://www.enjoykalkan.com/forum/index.php?topic=1146.0

Offline Charlie

• EnjoyKalkan Lover
  • My Thankyou Count: 68
    • Share Post
Re: Garden plants-advice please
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2008, 02:59:49 PM »
Reginald go and talk to Suleyman who owns the garden centre opposite the Kartin supermarket.  He has planted lots for us and all have taken very well.  He also checks up on the planting every now and then when we''re not in Kalkan. Usually twice a year I get him to feed all the plants so I''ll be calling on him next month.  Sorry can''t help much more than that as I''m afraid I''m definitely not a gardner!

Offline Chucky

• EnjoyKalkan Lover
  • My Thankyou Count: 16
  • Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive!!
    • Share Post
  • Owner: No
  • Resident: No
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2008, 10:23:11 PM »
Reginald, do you have a colour preference for a bougainvillea?