Kalkan Turkey Forum - EnjoyKalkan.com would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy notice.
To accept the cookie click here, or please login or register.

Author Topic: By way of introduction  (Read 3511 times)

Offline dearsley

• EnjoyKalkan Member
  • My Thankyou Count: 1
    • Share Post
    • Love Kalkan
  • Owner: No
  • Resident: No
By way of introduction
« on: May 29, 2018, 10:47:11 AM »
Hello everybody. Let me start by being frank. I've joined this forum for some advice. I actually live in a tiny Turkish village near Tire, Izmir. My wife and I have lived there full time for three years, having previously had a holiday home in Şile near Istanbul. I have been coming to Turkey more or less every year since 1971. I do a bit of English teaching in Tire and the father of one of my pupils is actually from Kalkan. He has two wonderful holiday villas to rent....and, yes you are probably ahead of me already, he has asked me to help him market them. So, I;m seeking your advice. I'm not an estate agent, I'm a former journalist and media trainer who is now enjoying semi-retirement. Some forums do not allow members to advertise commercially...so before I'm thrown out I won't say where these villas are, except that they are wonderful and have spectacular views over the town. So, if I'm allowed to say more please let me know....and please give me your thoughts on holiday lets in Kalkan. How's the market? Are there too many villas for rent? Too few? Are there fewer Brits than usual? From my perspective, when I go to Istanbul or holiday hot spots I now see a lot of Chinese, Japanese, Malaysian and Indonesian people...so it looks as if Turkey is looking East now, not West. I'm hoping to come to Kalkan soon. I was there many years years ago and actually sent my daughter and her husband to Kalkan last year. Any thoughts and comments will be gratefully received. Many thanks.